Tags

On the 3rd I went to see Rock Of Ages here in Baltimore at the Lyric. I’ve been wanting to see this show for awhile now but really didn’t feel like going up to NYC to see it. Luckily a few months ago I saw it was coming to down and a friend & I snagged a pair of tickets. Boy, were they awesome seats! We were about six rows from stage, center.

The show was amazing! It was funny and of course the music was kick ass. I mean, you can’t go wrong with songs by White Snake, Bon Jovi, Journey & Styx, just to name a few. It was great going into a show and being able to sing along. I loved the way they mixed the songs up though and made them their own. Obviously since it’s a musical a lot of the songs were used in conversation and they flowed wonderfully. It never felt weird or out of place. The cast was very entertaining and I loved the fact that the show was a little interactive. They seemed relaxed and like they were having a great time too. The audience had a great time too, which was obvious by the guy holding up his lighter during power ballads!

Oh and in case you don’t know what the show is about…it’s about a small town girl living in a lonely world and a city boy born and raised in South Detroit who meet in LA on the infamous Sunset Strip. She’s there to become an actress (aren’t they all?) and he wants to be a huge rock star. Along the way it turns out that developer wants to destroy the Strip and build a mall. Of course we know the two main characters are going to get together but they hit some snags along the road including her hooking up with some “big time” rocker and him ending up in a silly boy band. If you want more details check out Wikipedia.

I highly recommend seeing this show if the tour comes near you or if you’re heading to NYC in the future. It was really fun and not your typical musical which I loved. You can check out tour dates here! I actually loved the show so much, that I picked up the soundtrack on my way out. I’ve been rocking out in the car ever since!

FYI, I know it’s being turned into a movie but really, go see the show! It’s that awesome and I’m worried the movie won’t be as great. I’ll see it to compare but go! See it on stage!

Here’s a video from the 2009 Tony Awards of the Rock of Ages performance!

