Tags

, ,

Yesterday I had the chance to attend a screening of the new Seth Rogen & Joseph Gordon Levitt movie “50/50.” I had wanted to see it and was super excited when I saw a local radio was giving away screening passes. It turns out I wasn’t the only one who thought the same. The theater was packed!

I don’t want to give too much away but the basic premise is that JGL’s character is diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. Seth Rogen plays his friend and we meet his parents as well, along with his girlfriend. The movie follows the character from the moment he’s diagnosed to his recovery. Obviously during his time he has some ups and some downs. He finds out his girlfriend has been cheating on him and his mother responds to every phone call with “What’s wrong?!” He does end up with a dog named “Skeletor” though who helps during the process and meets a therapist in training who tries to help him through his treatments and diagnosis. The entire time though his best friend is pretty much by his side.

This movie was all over the place as far as emotions go. I found myself laughing one moment and almost crying the next. I know people say this a lot but it really was a roller coaster of a ride. Joseph Gordon Levitt did a great job in the role especially in the scene where he finally breaks downs. I can’t imagine this was an easy role but he made it look effortless if that makes any sense. I know people are here and there when it comes to Rogen but I thought he did a good job. He was there for the comic relief and pulled it off without coming off as obnoxious or too much. In the end we see his character as someone who’s dealing with this too, who’s scared of losing his friend. This movie did a great job of finding the balance between humor and telling a story that people actually deal with on an every day basis.

I’ve had people ask how this compares to “Funny People” and I honestly can’t say. I never saw “Funny People” but I really enjoyed this movie and I could tell the rest of the crowd did as well. Even though I saw it for free I’d have no problem paying to see it again.

“50/50” hits theaters this weekend, September 30th. If you don’t have anything going on, I suggest going to see it! I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

