Tags

, ,

A winter storm from Baltimore will be arriving late December!

I booked my tickets to spend NYE out in Chicago with the BFF. It was a PITA though. I was only a few thousand points away from a free flight using Southwest. Since they switched to the new Rapid Reward system you can purchase points to help reach free flight goals. It was only $100 for the points I needed, much less than the cost of the airfare (almost $300). I purchase the points, convert to a free flight and then go to book my trip. That’s when I hit a snag. I could fly out on the 29th but couldn’t fly back on the 2nd because it was blacked out. There was no way to check this before I booked which pissed me off. I didn’t want to come back on the 1st because well, who wants to fly the day after NYE? Plus I’m off the 2nd. I could find a flight on the 3rd though and after talking to my boss about coming in late, I went ahead and booked the earliest flight home.

I really wish there was a way to check the free flights before you convert all your points. Maybe there is and I just didn’t see it but a coworker mentioned the same problem. In the end though it worked out and I get an extra day out in Chicagoland!

