Tags

Saturday in Nashville started with breakfast at Fido, a little coffee/breakfast spot that country stars like Taylor Swift and Dierks Bentley like to visit. There’s a reason I mention Dierks. He’s one of my favorite country stars and we stalked a guy we thought was him.

I had spotted the guy while waiting in line to place my order. I had a little “Oh my” moment but wasn’t 100% sold. He was chasing a little girl around. Now, being the stalker that I am, I know that he has one older daughter and a baby. Once we placed our orders we found a seat in a quiet area and that’s when I noticed the same guy sitting at the table behind us. He had on sunglasses, a backwards ball cap and had “Dierks” hair. You know what I’m talking about. Those curls that just pop out from under a hat. Plus he had some scruff. I did a walk by and got a bigger “Oh my” feeling. I was torn. I was 50/50. Luckily I have a smartphone (like most people) and did a quick search and found out he was out on tour and not really in the area. Plus there was only one kid, the woman didn’t look like his wife and he didn’t have Jake the dog with him. I had found an article online saying that when he is in town, him and the wife walk down to Fido with Jake for coffee. I still wasn’t 100% convinced until we managed to stalk him across the street and I was able to hear him talk. That pretty much sold it on it not being him, then he got into a Volvo or something similar and that really sealed the deal! It was pretty fun though trying to figure it out. We even asked one of the bus boys if it was him and he shared a few stories about when he worked at a furniture store and sold stuff to Carrie Underwood (who he said had horrible make up lines) and Keith Urban.

After our morning adventures we headed off to the Tennessee State Museum where they were having a King Tut exhibit. I love Egyptian history and since it looked like it might be a rainy day, we headed off for some inside fun. The best part though? It was free! How amazing is that? Most of the museum focused on Tennessee history and being an outsider, it was pretty interesting. The King Tut exhibit though was great. I believe most of the artifacts they had were recreated by art students but it was still amazing. I think a few of the smaller pieces might have been original but it didn’t really matter to me. Just being able to see something was a thrill. I’m still kicking myself in the ass for not making it up to Philly when the official exhibit was on tour. We spent about two hours there. Here are a few more pictures:

227 251 246 249

After that it was time for lunch and that’s when we walked over to Jack’s BBQ. It. Was. Awesome. It wasn’t anything fancy, it was an original BBQ joint. You waited in line and placed your order and then added whatever sauce you wanted. They had everything from sweet to mild to spicy. Their sauces have won numerous contests and titles such as the National Barbecue Association Sauce Contest and American Royal Barbecue Sauce Contest. I didn’t have any sides with my pulled pork, just a straight up sandwich that was awesome. The back of Jack’s faces The Ryman and there’s been quite a few times where visiting performers have sneaked in for a bit or two. I can’t blame them!

258

The last stop of the day was Hatch Show Print. What is Hatch Show Print exactly?

If you follow music, art, and culture of the American South, sooner or later you’re bound to run into the letters, images, and unmistakable “look” of Hatch Show Print. We’re one of the oldest working letterpress print shops in America, and over the years our posters have featured a host of country music performers, ranging from Country Music Hall of Famers Hank Williams, Bill Monroe, and Johnny Cash to contemporary stars such as Garth Brooks and Wynonna.

In the shop they offer various prints for sale in different sizes. You can find full size posters and even items as small as postcards. It was a pretty interesting place and it was amazing to be able to see music history just by looking at the different posters and displays. You could find posters featuring current artists like Blake Shelton and then turn around and see a poster they did for Johnny Cash or Elvis years ago. The prints weren’t that expensive either! A postcard was only $1 and most of the posters were only $15. You’d spend that at Target or Wal-Mart for something unoriginal.

That pretty much wrapped up our day. We actually checked out of the hotel we were staying at and checked into Opryland which will be it’s own post. It was that awesome. I’m not even kidding and you’ll see!

